Medical Board & Scientific Advisory Committee

Medical Board

The National Psoriasis Foundation Medical Board is made up of experts in the field of psoriatic disease. The Medical Board provides clinical direction, treatment guidance and provider education oversight to the organization and its Executive leaders.

The Medical Board:

  • champions medical professional education
  • advises on and assists in the development of standards of care
  • supports NPF’s advocacy efforts to increase safe and effective treatment

April Armstrong, M.D., MPH


Keck School of Medicine at USC

Los Angeles, California

Kristina Callis Duffin, M.D., M.S.


University of Utah School of Medicine

Salt Lake City, Utah

Cassandra Calabrese, D.O.

Cleveland Clinic

Cleveland, Ohio

Kelly Cordoro, M.D.

University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine

San Francisco, California

Seemal Desai, M.D.

Innovative Dermatology

Plano, Texas

Steven Feldman, M.D., Ph.D.

Wake Forest University, Health Sciences

Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Dafna Gladman, M.D.

University of Toronto

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Brad Glick, D.O., MPH

Glick Skin Institute

Margate, Florida

Lawrence Green, M.D.

Aesthetic & Dermatology Center

Rockville, Maryland

George Han, M.D., Ph.D.

Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell

Hempstead, New York

Jason Ezra Hawkes, M.D., M.S.

University of California, Davis

Rocklin, California

Sylvia Hsu, M.D.

Temple University School of Medicine

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Robert Kalb, M.D.

Buffalo Medical Group

Williamsville, New York

Leon Kircik, M.D.

Physicians Skin Care

Louisville, Kentucky

John Koo, M.D.


University of California, San Francisco Medical Center

San Francisco, California

Gerald G. Kreuger, M.D.


University of Utah School of Medicine Salt Lake City, Utah

Richard Langley, M.D.

Dalhousie University, Department of Medicine

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Mark Lebwohl, M.D.


Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

New York, New York

Craig Leonardi, M.D.

Central Dermatology

St. Louis, Missouri

G. Michael Lewitt, M.D.

Illinois Dermatology Institute

Chicago, Illinois

Wilson Liao, M.D.

University of California, San Francisco

San Francisco, California

Joseph Markenson, M.D.

Hospital for Specialty Surgery

New York, New York

George Martin, M.D.

Dr. George Martin Dermatology Associates

Kihei, Hawaii

Joseph F. Merola, M.D., MMSc

Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School

Boston, Massachusetts

Ana-Maria Orbai, M.D.

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Baltimore, Maryland

Ronald Prussick, M.D.

FRCPC Washington Dermatology Center

Frederick, Maryland

Soumya M. Reddy, M.D.

NYU Grossman School of Medicine

New York, New York

Veronica Richardson, MSN, CRNP, ANP-BC

Perelman Center for Advanced Medicine Penn Dermatology

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Evan Siegel, M.D.

Arthritis & Rheumatism Associates, P.C.

Rockville, Maryland

Abby S. Van Voorhees, M.D.


Eastern Virginia Medical School

Norfolk, Virginia

Elizabeth Wallace, M.D.

University of Colorado School of Medicine

Aurora, Colorado

Jeffrey Weinberg, M.D.

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

New York, New York

Paul Yamauchi, M.D.

Dermatology Institute & Skin Care Center

Santa Monica, California

Last updated June 14, 2022

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee is responsible for identifying and reaching consensus upon the most promising active areas of research in the fields of psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, and related comorbidities. The Committee will offer predictions for the future path of research in these fields and offer suggestions for how the Foundation can build programs to align with this path. While recognizing the fluidity of scientific discovery, the committee will advise the Foundation and its stakeholders on emerging data and key stakeholders in relevant areas of science and clinical research.

Wilson Liao, M.D.


University of California, San Francisco

Jose Scher, M.D.


New York University

Tina Bhutani, M.D.

University of California, San Francisco

Andrew Blauvelt, M.D., MBA

Oregon Medical Research Center

Steve Fakharzadeh, M.D., Ph.D.


Joel Gelfand, M.D., MSCE

University of Pennsylvania

Alice Gottlieb, M.D., Ph.D.

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Samuel Hwang, M.D., Ph.D.

University of California, Davis

Lotus Mallbris, M.D., Ph.D.

Eli Lilly and Co.

Emanual Maverakis, M.D.

University of California, Davis

Nehal Mehta, M.D., MSCE, FAHA

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, National Institutes of Health

Joseph F. Merola, M.D., MMSc

Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School

Alexis Ogdie-Beatty, M.D., MSCE

University of Pennsylvania

Nicole Ward, Ph.D.

Case Western Reserve University

Gil Yosipovitch, M.D.

University of Miami

Last updated January 27, 2022

Stay in the Know.

Expert tips, can’t-miss events and the latest news, straight to your inbox.

National Health Council Standards of ExcellenceCharity Navigator

Copyright © 1996-2021 National Psoriasis Foundation/USA

Duplication, rebroadcast, republication or other use of content appearing on this website is prohibited without written permission of the National Psoriasis Foundation (NPF).

NPF does not endorse or accept any responsibility for the content of external websites.

NPF does not endorse any specific treatments or medications for psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis.

We use cookies to offer you a better experience and analyze our site traffic. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.