Medical Professionals Recognized for their Significant Impact on the Psoriatic Disease Community

Portland, Ore. (May 8, 2020) — In recognition of the medical professionals who work tirelessly to better patient outcomes and promote education for treating psoriatic disease, the National Psoriasis Foundation, NPF, is proud to announce the winners of its fifth annual Medical Professional Awards. Honored for their work in 2019, award recipients represent the wide range of professionals who contribute to the advancement of the care, treatment, clinical research and medical education needed to effectively manage and optimally treat psoriatic disease.

Nominated by patients and colleagues, and selected by a committee of NPF Medical Board members, these professionals join NPF in its mission to drive efforts to cure psoriatic disease and improve the lives of all those affected. Clinician award category winners include:

Outstanding Educator in Psoriatic Disease: Mark Lebwohl, M.D., is the Waldman Chair of Dermatology at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. He is being honored for his long-term national and international contributions to psoriatic disease education. An accomplished writer and prolific contributor to the clinical knowledge base, Dr. Lebwohl has authored or co-authored more than 500 publications and written or edited several books, including the first atlas devoted entirely to cutaneous manifestations of systemic disease, and the leading textbook on dermatologic therapy, Treatment of Skin Disease.

Serving on the editorial board of the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology and the Journal of Skin Cancer, Dr. Lebwohl is also editor of the Dermatology Section of Scientific American Medicine and co-Editor-in-Chief of Skin, the Journal of Cutaneous Medicine. A founding editor of the Journal of Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis, Dr. Lebwohl continues to support the vision and growth of the journal.

A past president of the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) and former chairman of the Psoriasis Task Force of the American Academy of Dermatology, Dr. Lebwohl has chaired numerous symposia including the AAD's annual Psoriasis Symposium, Diagnostic Update Symposium, and Therapeutics Symposium, and provided key podcasts and webinars to address community needs. Dr. Lebwohl’s knowledge, clinical experience and mentorship has significantly contributed to the education of many professionals treating psoriatic disease today.

Outstanding Physician-ClinicianDermatology: Robert Kalb, M.D., balances managing a busy dermatology practice, Buffalo Medical Group, while also being a Clinical Professor of Dermatology at the State University of New York at Buffalo. Completing his dermatology training at the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Columbia University in 1986, Dr. Kalb specializes in immune-mediated disease and has been involved in research for the past 13 years.

A past member of the NPF Medical Board and serving on the International Psoriasis Council, Dr. Kalb is being honored for his outstanding achievements as a dermatologist in improving psoriatic disease clinical practice and for improving the quality of life of psoriasis patients and their families. Recognized internationally as a collegial physician, Dr. Kalb is always available to assist patients, trainees, dermatologists, and other health care professionals with an interest in psoriasis. Sharing his knowledge and expertise of psoriasis through his dermatology practice and teaching medical students, Dr. Kalb has been published in over 60 top medical publications. From addressing the use of the topical calcipotriene to the safety and efficacy of modern biologic treatment, Dr. Kalb has covered all the major developments in psoriasis over the past 25 years.

Outstanding Physician-Clinician, Rheumatology: Evan Siegel, M.D., FACP, FACR, is assistant clinical professor of medicine at Georgetown University School of Medicine and the medical director of Arthritis and Rehabilitation Therapy Services, the physical therapy division of Arthritis and Rheumatism Associates, P.C. He is a Fellow of the American College of Rheumatology and a member of the American College of Physicians and the Rheumatism Society of the District of Columbia.

Dr. Siegel has a special interest in psoriatic arthritis and other spondyloarthropathies such as ankylosing spondylitis. He chaired the committee charged with developing psoriatic arthritis guidelines for United Rheumatology, a national group representing private practice rheumatologists and was on the committee to develop guidelines for the treatment of psoriatic arthritis established  by the National Psoriasis Foundation and the American College of Rheumatology.

The inaugural recipient of this award Dr. Siegel is committed to providing comprehensive care and often collaborates with a patient’s dermatologist to ensure all aspects of psoriatic disease is addressed appropriately. As a member of the NPF Medical Board, Dr. Siegel is a leading voice in the development of joint Dermatologist/Rheumatologist training programs.

NPF Health Professional Volunteer of the Year: James Krell, M.D. is a clinical professor at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). He earned his M.D. at Harvard Medical School and completed his residency at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia, where he was chief resident. Dr. Krell is board certified in both Alabama and Georgia. He has authored many articles and has spoken on the topic of psoriasis both in the US and internationally. A dedicated volunteer, Dr. Krell has supported the NPF for over 20 years. Attending the inaugural Pstamp Out Psoriatic Disease Birmingham event in 2018, Dr. Krell is the honorary Medical Chair for the 2020 event. A  professional member of the NPF for 25 years, Dr, Krell participates in NPF research studies and raises awareness of the Foundation with his patients and the broader Birmingham community.

Outstanding Allied Health Professional: Susan Hammerling-Hodgers, PA-C, MPAS, DFAAPA, has been a dermatology physician assistant since 2001 and currently works at Brevard Skin and Cancer. Recognized for outstanding achievements in improving psoriatic disease clinical practice, Ms. Hammerling-Hodgers is committed to providing her patients the care and treatment needed to address all aspects of their psoriatic disease. Thorough exams and in-depth medical histories enable Ms. Hammerling-Hodgers to find the appropriate treatment for each patient’s unique psoriasis presentation. Driven by a passion for educating the community on comorbidities associated with psoriasis, specifically the psychosocial impact of the disease, Ms. Hammerling-Hodgers writes a health focused column in Florida Today, which is part of the USA Today network of publications.


Stay in the Know

Expert tips, can’t-miss events, and the latest news, straight to your inbox.

National Health Council Standards of ExcellenceCharity NavigatorCommunity Health Charities logo

Copyright © 1996-2023 National Psoriasis Foundation/USA

Duplication, rebroadcast, republication, or other use of content appearing on this website is prohibited without written permission of the National Psoriasis Foundation (NPF).

NPF does not endorse or accept any responsibility for the content of external websites.

NPF does not endorse any specific treatments or medications for psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis.

We use cookies to offer you a better experience and analyze our site traffic. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.